fr nl
Wielsbeke André Demedtshuis
Sint-Bavostraat 19 - 8710 Wielsbeke
google map website


  • Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart Trio in Bb, KV 502
  • Johannes Brahms Trio No. 2 in C, op. 87
  • Arnold Schönberg Verklärte Nacht
Vienna: the epicentre of three centuries of European music history. This programme offers three works illustrating the soul of this city over time, by three great composers that were born or lived in Vienna: Mozart, Brahms and Schönberg.

At the beginning of this concert, the Khaldei Trio returns to the origins of the piano trio. It was actually in the age of Mozart and Haydn that the genre of the piano trio as we know it now, appeared first. Mozart's Trio KV502 marks a turning point in the evolution of this form: from a more solistic piano part with the violin and violoncello in an accompanying role, it has arrived at a point where the three instruments converse on an equal basis.
The programme continues with one of the greatest composers of the Romantic era, Johannes Brahms. His second trio, composed in Vienna between 1880 and 1882, boasts endless treasures, and Brahms' incomparable talent as a chamber musician makes itself heard.
After the break, the Khaldei Trio interprets Verklärte Nacht (Transfigured Night), Arnold Schönberg's famous piece based on the poem of the same name by Richard Dehmel. The arrangement for trio is by Eduard Steuermann. The composer follows the structure and content of the poem in the music. Nature, guilt, forgiveness and redemption are all entwined in Schönberg’s composition.