fr nl
Brussels Palais des Académies
Rue Ducale 1 - 1000 Brussels
google map website


Mieczyslaw Weinberg

Trio op.24

Quintet for piano and strings op.18
    Silesian Quartet, Victor Chestopal - piano

Two works of exceptional vitality written by a young composer, an exceptional pianist, who had, not long before, become a close friend of Shostakovich.
A mark of respect from Weinberg to his elder, the Trio op 24 begins with a masterful neoclassical Prelude. The Toccata with its exhilarating speed, the Poem of a dreamy lyricism, the Finale with its multiple characters: 4 unique movements creating an astonishing unity.
The Quintet op 18 testifies to Weinberg’s creative power. Serene melodies, naive marches, old-fashioned refrains, cabaret waltzes, Irish jigs, driving round dances… these ingenious elements are skilfully orchestrated and interwoven, and the five movements are always very convincing to the listener.